Checkpoint lets the owner of a contract establish a poll to see whether team members think a deal should move forward.
Issue a checkpoint whenever approval is required from colleagues, supervisors or other team members before a deal may progress. This may be prior to sharing or signing a deal, or any other time.
Create a new checkpoint
To create a new checkpoint, click the flag icon at upper right to open the checkpoint panel:
All team members and contract users (people on this deal) are listed in the checkpoint panel. Select the team members and/or contract users to include in this checkpoint, leaving un-checked anyone who should not participate in this decision (different users may be added to subsequent checkpoints).
Note: contract users who logged in as "guests" will not appear in the checkpoint panel. Contract users must have signed in to the platform and viewed the agreement at least once to be listed.
By default, members of the the team where this contract was created are listed. Members of other teams may be selected by choosing a different team from the drop down menu.
Clicking "Create Checkpoint" sets the poll live. Selected users are notified by email that their participation in the checkpoint is requested.
During a checkpoint editing and signing are disabled, and variable elements cannot be filled in (party elements are still fill-able). Each user on the checkpoint must choose whether they "approve" or "reject" the contract moving forward at this time by clicking the poll button at bottom-center:
A member can reset and change their poll response by clicking the thumbs up or down button again and choosing a new response:
When someone chooses "reject" on a checkpoint, they are prompted to add a comment describing the reason for their rejection. To use the in-platform commenting feature, tap the comment bubble that appears next to each contract section:
Cancel a checkpoint
The creator of a checkpoint can cancel the poll at any time (even if some responses are already in) by clicking "Cancel Checkpoint":
After a checkpoint
For a checkpoint to "pass," approval must be unanimous; if one member rejects, it will fail. In either case, after all responses are collected the person who created the checkpoint must click "Close Checkpoint" to re-enter editing mode.
Once a checkpoint has been cancelled or closed, its outcome is logged as passed, failed, or cancelled.
It is important to note that the purpose of the checkpoint is to gather information about what the team wants to do--a "failed" checkpoint will NOT result in blocked editing or signing.